Dubai entry permit cancellation and the ICP service

The service is headed “Entry permit/visa cancellation” on the GDRFA Dubai card. It is listed separately from residence-permit cancellation. In Dubai, the authority is the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs, known as GDRFA. Outside Dubai, the authority is the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security, known as ICP. The Dubai procedure is stated as the GDRFA card states it, and the ICP service is stated by name only. No procedure is given for a permit issued outside Dubai. No fee, no filer rule, no used-or-unused rule, and no statement of what happens after cancellation is given, because no official page states those facts.

If you need an entry permit cancelled, start by fixing which authority issued it. A Dubai-issued entry permit follows the GDRFA procedure below. A permit issued outside Dubai follows an ICP service whose name is verified and whose detail is not. Do not use a residence-permit cancellation procedure as your procedure. Do not use a fee, a grace period, or a document list from residence cancellation as your fee, grace period, or document list. Read the separation section first, then the Dubai steps, then the ICP section, then the list of questions no official page answers yet.

UAE entry permit cancellation and residence permit cancellation

Entry-permit cancellation and residence-permit cancellation are different services, on different service cards, with different verified facts. The GDRFA card is headed “Entry permit/visa cancellation.” The ICP directory lists “Cancel Entry Permit” separately from “Cancel Residency Permit.” The two services must not be merged. A fee stated for residence-permit cancellation is a residence-permit fee, not an entry-permit fee. A grace period stated for residence-permit cancellation is a residence-permit grace period, not an entry-permit grace period. A step stated for residence-permit cancellation, such as a labour-authority step, is a residence-permit step, not an entry-permit step. No residence fee, no residence grace period, and no residence step is stated as an entry-permit fact. If a page presents residence figures as entry-permit figures, it has merged two services.

The 30-day line is a further example of why the separation matters. On the GDRFA entry-permit card, 30 days is the deadline to attach missing documents to an application. It is not a grace period after cancellation. It is not a period to exit the country. It is not a period to transfer status. A reader who carries the 30 days from the missing-documents note into a post-cancellation timetable has misread the card. Keep the two 30-day ideas apart: one belongs to the application, and the other, if it exists at all for entry permits, is not stated on any official page.

Dubai GDRFA card single document

The GDRFA Dubai card lists one document, and the list is complete as stated on the card. The document is: “A copy of the sponsor’s passport.” No other document appears on the card. No visitor passport, no Emirates ID, no visa copy, and no company document appears on the card. No document beyond the sponsor’s passport copy is stated for the Dubai procedure. A longer document list in another page has come from elsewhere, not from this card, and it must not be treated as the GDRFA requirement.

The card states no filer rule. It does not state that only the sponsor may file, that a self-sponsored visitor may file alone, or that the visitor cannot cancel. No filer rule is stated, because the card states none. If you are not the sponsor, ask GDRFA or the Amer Centre who may file for your permit type, and ask with the permit details in hand. Do not assume you can file alone because a page says self-service is routine, and do not assume you cannot file because a page says sponsor-only filing is the rule. Both claims appear in other pages, and neither appears on the card.

The card also states no purpose or description sentence, no eligibility paragraph, and no conditions paragraph. It begins with the document list. The absence matters, because it means the card does not state, in words, what the service cancels, who may request it, or any limit on used or unused permits. Those gaps are not filled. The gaps are stated as gaps in the final section.

Dubai app route steps

The GDRFA card states two routes. The first route is the GDRFA-Dubai Smart Application. The steps, in order, are:

  • Download the GDRFA-Dubai application through the authorized stores: Apple store and Play store.
  • Register a new user account, in case there is no account registered.
  • Select the required service.
  • Attach the required documents.
  • Pay the fees due for the service.
  • Submit the request.

Each step is stated here as the card states it. The card does not state a login type for the application. It states “Register a new user account.” It does not state a UAE Pass login requirement for this service. No UAE Pass requirement is stated for the app route. The card does not state a fee amount at the payment step. It states only “Pay the fees due for the service.” No fee amount is stated for the app route. The fee shown by the system at the payment step is the fee to confirm on the live service screen, not a figure to take from another page. Do not budget from a fee figure in another page, because the card states no figure, and the figures in other pages conflict with each other.

Digital channels, meaning the website and the smart application, are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, according to the card. The duration stated on the card is 48.0 hours. That duration is the service duration as stated on the card. It is not a promise that a result will arrive in 48 hours in every case, and it is not a statement about what happens if documents are missing. The missing-documents rule, stated below, sits alongside the duration, and the two must be read together.

Dubai Amer Centre route steps

The second route on the GDRFA card is the Amer Centre. The steps, in order, are:

  • Head to one of the Amer service centres.
  • Select the required service at the receptionist.
  • Submit the required documents to the service employee.
  • Pay the fees due for the service.
  • Submit the application.

Amer Service Centres are available during the normal operating hours of Amer Centers, according to the card. The card states no centre hours, no centre list beyond a link to browse service centres, and no fee amount at the payment step. The same warning applies as for the app route: the card states only “Pay the fees due for the service,” so no fee amount is stated for the centre route. Ask at the centre what fee applies to your permit, and pay only the fee the centre states for the service. Keep the receipt, and keep a copy of the sponsor’s passport copy you submitted.

The two routes state the same document and the same payment wording. They differ in channel only: one is the application, and one is the centre. Do not add steps to either route from a residence-cancellation page. No labour-authority step appears on the entry-permit card. No extra document appears on the entry-permit card. The routes above are the whole procedure as stated.

Post submission status notes

The card states a status note, and the note covers two cases. A text message and an email are sent to the customer with the status of the application. If there are missing documents on the application, the customer is notified of the need to attach the missing documents within 30 days, and if the missing documents are not attached, the application will be cancelled. If there are no missing documents in the application, the customer will be notified of the approval, and the approved application will be sent by email.

Read that note carefully. The 30 days is a deadline to attach missing documents. It is not a grace period after cancellation, not an exit deadline, and not a status-change window. If documents are missing, the risk stated on the card is that the application itself will be cancelled for want of documents. That is different from the entry permit being cancelled, and the two cancellations must not be confused. Check the text message and the email after you submit, and attach any missing document inside the 30 days stated on the card. If no documents are missing, the approval and the approved application arrive by email, according to the card. The card states no other post-submission step, no exit deadline, no refund rule, and no fine consequence. None is stated, because the card states none.

Tourist and medical guarantor notes

Two guarantor and host notes appear on the GDRFA card, without a heading that explains what they govern. They read:

“Tourist visa: The guarantor/host within the country must be an agency engaged in the tourism industry.”

“medical visa: The guarantor/host is one of the nation’s officially recognized medical facilities.”

Those notes are stated exactly, with the caveat that they appear without a governing heading. They are not expanded into a general rule about who can cancel, who can file, or which permits can be cancelled. No family-sponsor note, no employer note, and no self-sponsored note appears on the card. Do not read a family, employer, or self-sponsored rule into the tourist and medical notes. If your permit is a tourist permit or a medical permit, confirm with GDRFA or the Amer Centre how the note applies to your cancellation, and ask in terms of your permit type.

ICP service outside Dubai by name only

In the ICP individual-services directory, a service named “Cancel Entry Permit” exists. It is listed separately from “Cancel Residency Permit.” That name, that existence, and that separation are the only ICP facts verified. The directory page states no fee, no steps, no documents, no terms, and no timeline for the service. No ICP fee, no ICP steps, no ICP documents, and no ICP timeline is therefore stated.

The fee, documents, terms, and timeline for the ICP service are unverified on the live site. No ICP detail beyond the directory listing is stated as fact. If your permit was issued outside Dubai, the ICP detail page is the page to confirm on the live site before you act, and the questions in the final section are the questions to put to ICP.

Do not use the Dubai procedure as the ICP procedure. The Dubai card and the ICP directory listing are different authorities, and the Dubai steps, document, and duration are Dubai facts. An ICP fee, step, or document list must come from the ICP card, not from the Dubai card and not from a page that copies the Dubai card onto ICP.

Unstated questions on official pages

No official page states the cancellation fee for either authority. The GDRFA card states only that the fees due must be paid, and the ICP directory listing states no fee. No official page states whether a used or entered permit can be cancelled, or whether an expired permit follows the same route. No official page states who may file. No official page states what happens after cancellation: no grace period, no exit deadline, no status-change window, no refund rule, and no fine consequence for an entry permit. No official page states a document beyond the GDRFA sponsor-passport copy.

The questions to put to the issuing authority, before you rely on any page, are direct: what is the fee for cancelling this entry permit, and where does that fee appear; who may file the request for this permit type; can this permit be cancelled after entry, or after expiry, and under what terms; what happens after cancellation, including any period to exit, transfer, or apply again; whether any refund applies; and which documents, beyond the sponsor’s passport copy for Dubai, are needed for this permit. Ask in terms of your permit, your entry status, and your issuing authority. Do not accept a residence-permit answer as an entry-permit answer. Until those questions are answered on an official page or by the authority for your permit, the procedure is stated as stated and the gaps as gaps, and no further statement is made.

Related guides

Sources

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *